Campus Space Utilization and Allocation Committee June 6, 2024

Members Present:

Daniel Warren Ben Stubbs Brandi Fletcher Rachel Hall Ada Haynes Daniel Warren Beth Howard Kumar Yelamarthi Allan Mills Sandra Smith-Andrews Abdul Momin David Hales (for Brian Seiler)

Julie Baker, Executive Officer

Members Absent:

Charles Van Neste	Matthew Dexter
Cheryl Montgomery	Elizabeth Williams
Megan Atkinson	Jim Cobb
David Gallop	Ian Anderson, Student

Guests Present:

Steve Hayslette

Linda Null

Outline of Proceedings:

- Approval of Agenda
- Approval of April 4, 2024, Minutes
- Physics Request (LSC 2302)
- Biology Request (LSC 2307)
- English Request (HH 318A)
- Engineering Department Requests
 - Clement Hall 204, 208)
 - LSC 2303
- Space Utilization and Allocation Procedures Review/Revision
- Other Such Matters

A quorum was present, and Dr. Julie Baker called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m.

Approval of Agenda

Motion. Sandra Smith-Andrews *Second*. Kumar Yelamarthi *Vote*. Approved

Approval of Minutes- April 4, 2024

Motion. Rachel Hall *Second*. Kumar Yelamarthi *Vote*. Approved

Request from Physics (LSC 2302)

With two Physics research labs in LSC it is important that there is office space in close proximity for use by faculty engaged in research in these spaces. Currently this is primarily Dr. Mustafa Rajabali, but as part of a recently awarded grant he will soon be hiring a post-doctoral research assistant who will also work in these labs and use this office space.

Motion. Sandra Smith-Andrews *Second*. Allan Hills *Vote*. Approved

Request from Biology (LSC 2307)

LSC 2307 is part of the Microbiology Quad. Room 2307 currently is used primarily by Dr. Hannah Kinmonth-Schultz, our Plant Physiologist, to grow plants to support her plant-related teaching and research. Hannah will be using our Plant Physiology Lab for some of her research, but these facilities are not yet operational, and she needs the 2307 space to support her teaching and research. Additionally, other Biology faculty occasionally use the space, as well.

Motion. Allan Mills

Second. Sandra Smith-Andrews *Abstention.* Kumar Yelamarthi *Vote*. Approved

--

Request from English (HH 318A)

Dr. Kash's office (HH 318A) is currently in the department of Communications. He has retired and the office should now be assigned to the Department of English *Motion*. Allan Mills *Second*. Sandra Smith-Andrews *Vote*. Approved

--

Requests from Engineering

 Clement Hall 204 and 208 - Creating an eSports arena in the College of Engineering would promote teamwork and camaraderie among students, fostering a sense of belonging within the community. This space would offer an avenue for students to connect over shared interests in gaming, emphasizing social engagement and personal development outside of academic pursuits.
Motion. Kumar Yelamarthi *Second*. Sandra Smith-Andrews

Vote. Approved

LSC 2303 - The College of Engineering is adding several new undergraduate and graduate programs, including the BS in Nuclear Engineering. Unfortunately, the CoE does not have ample space to accommodate faculty in our current facilities. We are requesting this office (LSC 2303) to house our newly hired faculty and/or staff members.
Motion. Kumar Yelamarthi
Second. Sandra Smith-Andrews
Vote. Approved

Space Utilization and Allocation Procedures Review/Revision

A copy of the "markup" of this first revision of "Campus Space Utilization and Allocation Committee Procedures" is attached to these minutes and labeled Appendix A

A lengthy discussion of the revised procedures ensued with contributions from Sandra Smith-Andrews, David Hales, Kumar Yelamarthi, Linda Null, Brandi Fletcher, and Ben Stubbs and with Julie Baker serving as moderator.

It was decided that the agreed upon discussion points would be incorporated into a second draft of revisions and presented, along with the "Campus Space Utilization and Allocation Committee Policy" at the next meeting. The Policy is attached here as Appendix B.

Other Such Matters

No one raised other such matters.

There being no other such matters, a motion to adjourn was called by Kumar Yelamarthi and seconded by Sandra Smith-Andrews. The meeting adjourned at 11:54 a.m.

--